Page 1 of 1

Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:55 am
Author: atomhead
Your phpBB Version: latest
phpBB Type: Integramod 141
MODs: No
Your knowledge: Basic Knowledge
Board URL: http://discordiaguild.org

PHP Version:
MySQL Version:


What was done before the problem appeared?
---


What was done to try to solve the problem?
---



De.scription and Message

Ok so I have a current install of 1.4.0 / 1.4.1 that didn't upgrade properly, and had problems with a couple other features. I have done so much messing with it that I just would prefer doing a fresh install.

But is there a way to copy over anything from another install of IM like posts, users, forum setup etc? Probably not but thought I'd ask.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:18 am
Author: IntegraMOD
You could compare the tables from the upgrade to the fresh install and if the table layouts are the same there should be no reason why you can then just backup (export) the data from the old table to the new one through phpmyadmin.

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:24 am
Author: atomhead
That sounds simple enough. What tables will I be looking for? If let's say I wanted to simply import my users, the forums, and the posts within those forums...

Also what would I be comparing with regard to 'layout'? Sorry but with regard to working with that level of phpmyadmin I'm quite inexperienced.

edit: I assume that I can just backup the tables with the default options before importing anything, and reimport those backups if something went wrong, right?

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:33 am
Author: Helter
if you've already run the upgrade on your old forum then the db should be good. You should be able to use it to replace most of the tables on your fresh install. What part do you think youve messed up?

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:42 am
Author: atomhead
http://www.integramod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2832

Basically there is the above error, and an error in the ctracker in the admin panel (it doesn't display right), and the error I've had for months with disabling admin phpbbsecurity PMs not working (disabled it and still getting them), pages are loading slow as well. Since the problem above I have done mass overwrites of my actual ftp directories from the IM141 install, which was probably a bad idea but it didn't seem to make a difference. I just figure a fresh install would be safer.

If I can just export the DB and import it through the ACP (would I have to copy over config.php or any other files from my old install?), this whole process is going to be alot less painful than I was anticipating. I'm just worried that doing so will crop up the same problems I had before. So I was thinking if there was a way tojust get users, groups, forums, and posts, without any settings, it might be more problem-proof. Also if I imported the DB and it's looking for stuff that doesn't exist in the fresh install (album uploads that don't exist for example, or custom smilies), I might run into problems, but I guess I could just go through the different features and copy over what I missed.

I can at least backup the fresh install DB this time and reimport it if any problems (and also I won't just mass upload ftp files again, since now I will know it's a DB issue).

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:22 am
Author: atomhead
Maybe that was too verbose.

Basically I need to know if I can copy just forums, groups, users, and posts and how I would get that data from my old DB.

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:53 am
Author: Helter
make a backup of your db and run the updates on it so the tables all match. You should then be able to replace tables from your new 141 db with existing tables such as posts, post_text users etc

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:01 am
Author: jwernerny
"HelterSkelter";p="20801" wrote:make a backup of your db and run the updates on it so the tables all match. You should then be able to replace tables from your new 141 db with existing tables such as posts, post_text users etc


I tried this and it works, but there is one thing to watch out for... in the table php_config, the value for ".script_path" must be set to the location of the new files. If it is not, strange things will happen.

Thanks again,
- John

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:49 am
Author: atomhead
This is what I copied to the new DB (I don't want everything because there were custom mods installed, and I don't want all the extra stuff, so just dumping everything is not an option):

* phpbb_auth_access: OK
* phpbb_banlist: OK
* phpbb_categories: OK
* phpbb_config: OK
* phpbb_confirm: OK
* phpbb_disallow: OK
* phpbb_forum_prune: OK
* phpbb_forums: OK
* phpbb_groups: OK
* phpbb_posts: OK
* phpbb_posts_text: OK
* phpbb_privmsgs: OK
* phpbb_privmsgs_text: OK
* phpbb_ranks: OK
* phpbb_search_results: OK
* phpbb_search_wordlist: OK
* phpbb_search_wordmatch: OK
* phpbb_sessions: OK
* phpbb_smilies: OK
* phpbb_themes: OK
* phpbb_themes_name: OK
* phpbb_topics: OK
* phpbb_topics_watch: OK
* phpbb_user_group: OK
* phpbb_users: OK
* phpbb_vote_desc: OK
* phpbb_vote_results: OK
* phpbb_vote_voters: OK
* phpbb_words: OK

I see my users and groups, however the forums aren't showing, though if I click The Test forum 1 it shows what should be in my old site's "The Lounge". Something's missing. Any help is appreciated.t

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:32 pm
Author: atomhead
Oh, had to hit the Resync button on the forum manager.

Looks good now!

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:42 am
Author: atomhead
Ok everything was looking good after some minor problems like my themes table not matching the default 141 install and getting critical errors.

However after trying to make a post I get this error. And I 100% ran the DB update on my old site first.

Error updating user data

DEBUG MODE

UPDATE phpbb_users SET user_points = user_points + 1 WHERE user_id = 83

Line : 1283
File : functions_cash.php


The post still appears if you go back to the thread. And if disabling cashmod, it works fine. But I'd like to use this feature.

I was thinking I will have to force everyone to rerigster and just import the user table from a default install into what I have now, to fix this? Is it even an issue with the user table? Is there a better way to fix this?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:44 pm
Author: IntegraMOD
did you run that database update .script of the copied over tables

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:03 am
Author: Teelk
Try this query.
Code: Select all
ALTER TABLE `phpbb_users` CHANGE `user_points` `user_points` DECIMAL( 11, 0 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0';  

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:10 am
Author: atomhead
I ran the DB update to 1.4.1 .script on the current install, yes.

I tried that query and got this message:

SQL query:

ALTER TABLE `phpbb_users` CHANGE `user_points` `user_points` DECIMAL( 11, 0 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0'
MySQL said:

#1054 - Unknown column 'user_points' in 'phpbb_users'

Re: Question about fresh install -> importing stuff

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:26 pm
Author: Teelk
Oh, ok. So it's missing altogether then... don't know how that would have happened... or why it would be looking for it at all if it doesn't exist. It must exist in the cash tables then.

Run this query instead, this'll create the column.
Code: Select all
ALTER TABLE `phpbb_users` ADD `user_points` DECIMAL( 11, 0 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0';

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:03 pm
Author: atomhead
That did the trick, thanks so much <img>

will add solved soon, still going through everything