Page 1 of 1

[Solved]Another Multiple Die Problem

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:55 pm
Author: BoneHead
Your phpBB Version: 2.0.21
phpBB Type: phpBB / IMPortal
MODs: No
Your knowledge: Basic Knowledge
Board URL: http://www.kciss.com

PHP Version:
MySQL Version: 4.0.22-standard


What was done before the problem appeared?
Updated site from IMPortal to IM140, tested, followed instructions on updating IM140 to IM141. Had previously done this several times in test environment.


What was done to try to solve the problem?
Nothing....I'm lost



De.scription and Message

Ok I'm at a total loss. I uploaded all files minus the two install folders and my config.php. I CHMOD'd all (and double checked) files and folders. When I went to install the update it displayed error stating wrong version.

I searched, found it is releated to the multiple die errors and something might not match up with config.php.

I opened up the db_update file and my config.php to verify no discrepancies. Now when I go to run the php update .script I get a 500 Internal Server Error. The pages display the multiple die error message.

I checked my server logs and this is the only thing that shows....


Code: Select all
[Sat Feb 03 01] [error] [client 70.250.xxx.xxx] Premature end of .script headers: php-.script[Sat Feb 03 01:43:26 2007] [error] [client 70.250.xxx.xxx] Premature end of .script headers: php-.script  


So I have no clue what to do.

I have redownloaded and tried the .script again thinking it might have been corrupted somehow when I opened it to look at it, but same thing.

Re: Another Multiple Die Problem

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:54 am
Author: Teelk
Hey BoneHead,

I'll make you up an install .script that you can run using phpmyadmin.

Re: Another Multiple Die Problem

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:42 am
Author: BoneHead
Thx man. I posted up on my hosts forums due to the Internal Server Error but have not been able to get a response as of yet.

Re: Another Multiple Die Problem

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:57 pm
Author: BoneHead
I've rolled back to IM140 for now until I can get a different way to do the update.

Re: Another Multiple Die Problem

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:17 am
Author: BoneHead
I'm confused. It seems like I've gotten the upgrade to take, however I'm still getting the Internal Server Error's due to memory errors??

I look at the error logs and see this....

[Sun Feb 04 11:09:46 2007] [error] [client 70.250.xxx.xxx] Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 207 bytes), referer: http://www.kciss.com/forum/index.php
[Sun Feb 04 11:09:46 2007] [error] [client 70.250.xxx.xxx] Premature end of .script headers: php-.script, referer: http://www.kciss.com/forum/index.php


Any clue as to what has caused this? Will a simple server reboot help clear this up? If so will this happen again?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:18 am
Author: IntegraMOD
You need to set the memory limit to 16mb in the php.ini file
http://www.integramod.com/forum/viewtop ... highlight=
http://www.integramod.com/forum/viewtop ... highlight=
check those two topics

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:18 pm
Author: BoneHead
That did it. However, what exactly did that do?
Was that just a software change, or is that change how the server relates to the software?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:49 pm
Author: IntegraMOD
As far as I can tell it sets the amount of memory that the server sets aside for the running of integramod, but dont quote me on that <img>

Re: [Solved]Another Multiple Die Problem

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:02 pm
Author: BoneHead
So it bypasses the php memory limit set on the server by the host?

Just checked the phpinfo and the host has it set to 8M. But after using the fix
Code: Select all
ini_set("memory_limit","16M");
in the config.php the site seems to be working.

I just want to make sure that I'm not doing something that would upset the host and kick me off their servers.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:22 pm
Author: IntegraMOD
yes thats correct you could of also editied the php.ini file on the host if it is accesable

Re: [Solved]Another Multiple Die Problem

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:25 pm
Author: Teelk
Well, your host can easily block the use of ini_set, and since they haven't done that I would assume you're allowed to use it.