Page 1 of 1

Problems creating categories or changing forums to category

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:47 am
Author: Willy
Your phpBB Version: 2.0.22
phpBB Type: Integramod 141
MODs: No
Your knowledge: Basic Knowledge
Board URL: http://www.squirrelmaster.org/main

PHP Version:
MySQL Version:


What was done before the problem appeared?
Nothing.


What was done to try to solve the problem?




De.scription and Message

Hello all. I can make new forums, edit forums, etc with no problems. Let me start from the beginning.

I had a copy of phpbb 2.0.17 but had many problems with bots and what not. A friend recommended Integra because of all the mods included within it, also including the bot blockers. So, I was able to upgrade and get everything installed. I had a few problems with some of the original forums/categories but finally got them to migrate and show up on the updated site.

Afterwards I tried to make a new category and I was getting two different errors, one was involving Crackertracker. I was a little frustrated and personally just wanted to start with a clean install so I just deleted everything. I did a fresh install of integra (no upgrade) and it wouldn't work. I checked the file permissions(even though I used cpanel to auto-extract), I was geting sql errors. So I installed php 2.0.22 and did the upgrade. Once again it worked with no problems. However I was still unable to make or create categories. The error below was the one I was getting.

Code: Select all
Couldn't update forums/categories table  DEBUG MODE  SQL Error ]

So I installed phpbb again and upgraded that.  No problems but still cannot make categories.  I tried adjusting the security level of cracker to LOW, I tried turning on debug mode but it didn't list any types of problems in the logs

I tried updating admin_forums_extend.php from

[code]$ct_ignorepvar = array('create','delete','name','icon');[/code]

to

[code]$ct_ignorepvar = array('create','delete','name','icon','desc');


I deleted and re-created admin_forums_extend.php. I refreshed the forums afterwards.

I added updates to ct_security.php but no luck.

I consider myself on average with being able to troubleshoot these issues. I think it's something with the SQL, but I never had problems until I upgraded. Please bare with me, I hope I didn't miss over any vital information. If there is anything else you need or something I missed please reply.

Thanks again in advance!

Re: Problems creating categories or changing forums to categ

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:17 pm
Author: Teelk
For some reason it looks like you're missing the field icon from the categories table. How that would happen, especially with a fresh install, is very puzzling.

If that's the only problem you're getting it should be solved by adding the field back into the table. Run the following query in phpmyadmin.

Code: Select all
ALTER TABLE `phpbb_categories` ADD `icon` VARCHAR(255) DEFAULT NULL;
Change phpbb_ to your table prefix.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:56 pm
Author: Willy
Howdy again. I tried that and it gave me the same error.

I have a question, I was going to dump this and remake it from scratch. What query would I need to start over?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:28 pm
Author: thatjoeguy
This same error happened to me, but was fixed by creating the column in the table as Teelk described. The only problem now is that all new categories are positioned at the top, no matter what I do, and I can't change it.

Re: Problems creating categories or changing forums to categ

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:39 pm
Author: Teelk
Possibly some more missing fields, thatjoeguy. Export the categories table and post it, I can compare it to a working one.

Re: Problems creating categories or changing forums to categ

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 5:40 pm
Author: thatjoeguy
Thanks, Teelk. Here we go:

- phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
-- version 2.9.0.2
-- http://www.phpmyadmin.net
--
-- Host: localhost
-- Generation Time: Feb 16, 2007 at 05:41 PM
-- Server version: 4.1.21
-- PHP Version: 4.4.2
--
-- Database: `xxx`
--

-- --------------------------------------------------------

--
-- Table structure for table `phpbb_categories`
--

CREATE TABLE `phpbb_categories` (
`cat_id` mediumint(8) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
`cat_title` varchar(100) default NULL,
`cat_order` mediumint(8) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
`cat_main_type` char(1) default NULL,
`cat_main` mediumint(8) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
`cat_desc` text NOT NULL,
`icon` varchar(255) default NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (`cat_id`),
KEY `cat_order` (`cat_order`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=7 ;

--
-- Dumping data for table `phpbb_categories`
--

INSERT INTO `phpbb_categories` VALUES (1, 'Main', 10, NULL, 0, '', NULL);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_categories` VALUES (2, 'UtahBBQ.Org', 30, NULL, 0, '', NULL);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_categories` VALUES (3, 'Utah BBQ Association', 50, NULL, 0, '', NULL);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_categories` VALUES (4, 'BBQ', 80, NULL, 0, '', NULL);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_categories` VALUES (5, 'Classifieds', 150, NULL, 0, '', NULL);

Re: Problems creating categories or changing forums to categ

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 9:54 pm
Author: Teelk
Ok, that looks fine. Let's ensure that we're using the correct settings. Go to ACP>Forum Admin>Management+.

Click create new forum.

If you want it positioned after your current category, then it must be attached to the same parent category. So, if your current categories are attached to the Forum Index, then also attach the new one to the Forum Index as well. The page will refresh. Now, position the new category after one of the other categories and should be placed there.

Re: Problems creating categories or changing forums to categ

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:12 am
Author: thatjoeguy
It seems that it's actually categories that are having the problem. If I create a new category, it is always positioned at the top of the list on the Management + page, regardless of any settings I choose.

One interesting thing to note is that when I just now created two test categories, and created a forum within one of them, I was able to change the positioning between the two test categories. However, I was unable to place a test category between any of the already-existing categories.

Weird, huh?