What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

Support for IntegraMOD 141

Moderator: Integra Moderator

What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

PostAuthor: jbl7979 » Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:26 pm

Your phpBB Version: 2.0.
phpBB Type: phpBB / IMPortal
MODs: Yes
Your knowledge: Advanced Knowledge
Board URL: http://www.thefallen.info

PHP Version:
MySQL Version:


What was done before the problem appeared?
I added the mod "itemstats" which is a world of warcraft based mod. It is located here: http://itemstats.free.fr/news.php


What was done to try to solve the problem?
Read the forums, played with portal.php



De.scription and Message

So I added the above mod to my forums. I got it to work with integra by playing with a few files, but now my portal.php comes up blank. I am assumign this means I have to somehow tell portal.php that I have installed this mod. Basically, it just does two things: 1. adds a folder called itemstats and 2. changes a few things in includes/bbcode.php and includes/page_header.php.

My question is what do I have to do to make portal.php recognize these changes as well?
Last edited by jbl7979 on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jbl7979
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:36 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

PostAuthor: Helter » Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:09 pm

you dont need to hard code anything into the portal page. Instead you would add it to a block from the acp
acp/IMPortal/blocks management/your portal page/add blocks

there is more detailed info available here
http://integramod.com/forum/portal.php?page=6
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." - Dale Carnegie
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4554
Likes: 40 posts
Liked in: 116 posts
Images: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Cash on hand: 1,959.15
Location: Seattle Wa
IntegraMOD version: phpBB2x

PostAuthor: jbl7979 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:07 pm

Ok, Im not sure how using the block configuration would help me here. What my mod does is simple, it adds in a new type of bbcode, which is <item>ITEMHERE</item> (using brackets of course) and then it takes the text I bracketed and when you hover over it, a tooltip appears which gives values of the item from a database.
I modified things so that it works w/ the regular forum, but the portal page shows up as all white. You are saying I should do something with block configuration, but how will this make it so that my portal no longer shows as white? Can this be done through adding a new block? Or maybe block variables?
Last edited by jbl7979 on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jbl7979
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:36 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

PostAuthor: Helter » Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:21 pm

this mod should not affect the portal page. What files did you have to edit to install this mod?
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." - Dale Carnegie
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4554
Likes: 40 posts
Liked in: 116 posts
Images: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Cash on hand: 1,959.15
Location: Seattle Wa
IntegraMOD version: phpBB2x

PostAuthor: jbl7979 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:48 pm

includes/page_header.php
and
includes/bbcode.php

Im also discussing it with Whisky on his site's thread in the examples section. He is currently using htis mod succesfully, and seems to have done the same thing I did, so im not sure why it broke my portal. Maybe ill just try to reinstall the base files and try again when I get home.
Last edited by jbl7979 on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jbl7979
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:36 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

PostAuthor: Helter » Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:42 pm

double check these edits

Code: Select all
 # #-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------ #  includes/page_header.php  # #-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------ #  define('HEADER_INC', TRUE);  # #-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------ #  //// IM Portal [url=http]http://www.integrmod.com//if(!defined('PORTAL_INIT'[/url])){     include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/functions_portal.' . $phpEx);     portal_config_init($portal_config);     include_once($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/lite.'.$phpEx);     $options = array(         'cacheDir' => $phpbb_root_path . 'var_cache/',         'fileLocking' => $portal_config['md_cache_file_locking'],         'writeControl' => $portal_config['md_cache_write_control'],         'readControl' => $portal_config['md_cache_read_control'],         'readControlType' => $portal_config['md_cache_read_type'],         'fileNameProtection' => $portal_config['md_cache_filename_protect'],         'automaticSerialization' => $portal_config['md_cache_serialize']     );     $var_cache = new Cache_Lite($options);     define('PORTAL_INIT', TRUE);}  # #-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------ #  $template->pparse('overall_header');  # #-----[ BEFORE, ADD ]------------------------------------------ #  //// IM Portal [url=http://www.integrmod.com//]http://www.integrmod.com//[/url]  // debug forum wide Portal/*if($layout_forum_wide_flag)     $temp_debug = 1;else     $temp_debug = 0;die('debug: ' . strval(empty($gen_simple_header)) . ' | ' . strval($temp_debug) . ' | ' . strval($portal_config['portal_header']) . ' | ' . strval(defined('HAS_DIED')) . ' | ' . strval(defined('IN_LOGIN')));*/// debug forum wide Portal  if(empty($gen_simple_header)){     if(!$layout_forum_wide_flag&&$portal_config['portal_header']&&(!defined('HAS_DIED'))&&(!defined('IN_LOGIN')))     {         $template->set_filenames(array(             'portal_header'         => 'portal_page_header.tpl')         );         portal_parse_blocks($portal_config['default_portal'], TRUE, 'header');         $template->assign_var('HEADER_WIDTH', $portal_config['header_width']);         $template->assign_var('PORTAL_HEADER', portal_assign_var_from_handle($template, 'portal_header'));     }}  


*edit* I just checked your site. Your not running phpbb/IMPortal, your running IntegraMOD 141. Since 141 uses advanced BBcode mod, any edits to bbcode.php can be tricky, so you may want to double check them also
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." - Dale Carnegie
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4554
Likes: 40 posts
Liked in: 116 posts
Images: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Cash on hand: 1,959.15
Location: Seattle Wa
IntegraMOD version: phpBB2x


Return to IntegraMOD 141

Who is online

Registered users: App360MonitorBot, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]