What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

Posted:
Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:26 pm
Author: jbl7979
Your phpBB Version: 2.0.
phpBB Type: phpBB / IMPortal
MODs: Yes
Your knowledge: Advanced Knowledge
Board URL: http://www.thefallen.info PHP Version: MySQL Version: What was done before the problem appeared?I added the mod "itemstats" which is a world of warcraft based mod. It is located here: http://itemstats.free.fr/news.php What was done to try to solve the problem?Read the forums, played with portal.php De.scription and MessageSo I added the above mod to my forums. I got it to work with integra by playing with a few files, but now my portal.php comes up blank. I am assumign this means I have to somehow tell portal.php that I have installed this mod. Basically, it just does two things: 1. adds a folder called itemstats and 2. changes a few things in includes/bbcode.php and includes/page_header.php.
My question is what do I have to do to make portal.php recognize these changes as well?
Re: What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

Posted:
Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:09 pm
Author: Helter
you dont need to hard code anything into the portal page. Instead you would add it to a block from the acp
acp/IMPortal/blocks management/your portal page/add blocks
there is more detailed info available here
http://integramod.com/forum/portal.php?page=6

Posted:
Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:07 pm
Author: jbl7979
Ok, Im not sure how using the block configuration would help me here. What my mod does is simple, it adds in a new type of bbcode, which is <item>ITEMHERE</item> (using brackets of course) and then it takes the text I bracketed and when you hover over it, a tooltip appears which gives values of the item from a database.
I modified things so that it works w/ the regular forum, but the portal page shows up as all white. You are saying I should do something with block configuration, but how will this make it so that my portal no longer shows as white? Can this be done through adding a new block? Or maybe block variables?
Re: What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

Posted:
Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:21 pm
Author: Helter
this mod should not affect the portal page. What files did you have to edit to install this mod?

Posted:
Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:48 pm
Author: jbl7979
includes/page_header.php
and
includes/bbcode.php
Im also discussing it with Whisky on his site's thread in the examples section. He is currently using htis mod succesfully, and seems to have done the same thing I did, so im not sure why it broke my portal. Maybe ill just try to reinstall the base files and try again when I get home.
Re: What changes to portal.php when adding a mod?

Posted:
Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:42 pm
Author: Helter
double check these edits
- Code: Select all
# #-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------ # includes/page_header.php # #-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------ # define('HEADER_INC', TRUE); # #-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------ # //// IM Portal [url=http]http://www.integrmod.com//if(!defined('PORTAL_INIT'[/url])){ include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/functions_portal.' . $phpEx); portal_config_init($portal_config); include_once($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/lite.'.$phpEx); $options = array( 'cacheDir' => $phpbb_root_path . 'var_cache/', 'fileLocking' => $portal_config['md_cache_file_locking'], 'writeControl' => $portal_config['md_cache_write_control'], 'readControl' => $portal_config['md_cache_read_control'], 'readControlType' => $portal_config['md_cache_read_type'], 'fileNameProtection' => $portal_config['md_cache_filename_protect'], 'automaticSerialization' => $portal_config['md_cache_serialize'] ); $var_cache = new Cache_Lite($options); define('PORTAL_INIT', TRUE);} # #-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------ # $template->pparse('overall_header'); # #-----[ BEFORE, ADD ]------------------------------------------ # //// IM Portal [url=http://www.integrmod.com//]http://www.integrmod.com//[/url] // debug forum wide Portal/*if($layout_forum_wide_flag) $temp_debug = 1;else $temp_debug = 0;die('debug: ' . strval(empty($gen_simple_header)) . ' | ' . strval($temp_debug) . ' | ' . strval($portal_config['portal_header']) . ' | ' . strval(defined('HAS_DIED')) . ' | ' . strval(defined('IN_LOGIN')));*/// debug forum wide Portal if(empty($gen_simple_header)){ if(!$layout_forum_wide_flag&&$portal_config['portal_header']&&(!defined('HAS_DIED'))&&(!defined('IN_LOGIN'))) { $template->set_filenames(array( 'portal_header' => 'portal_page_header.tpl') ); portal_parse_blocks($portal_config['default_portal'], TRUE, 'header'); $template->assign_var('HEADER_WIDTH', $portal_config['header_width']); $template->assign_var('PORTAL_HEADER', portal_assign_var_from_handle($template, 'portal_header')); }}
*edit* I just checked your site. Your not running phpbb/IMPortal, your running IntegraMOD 141. Since 141 uses advanced BBcode mod, any edits to bbcode.php can be tricky, so you may want to double check them also