Allowing admins to create new users

Support for IntegraMOD 141

Moderator: Integra Moderator

Allowing admins to create new users

PostAuthor: jforena » Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:12 pm

On our forum only the founding admin can create a new users. How can non-founding admins be given the privs to create new users? Currently, they receive the message "Sorry, you're not authorized to view/change these settings." Thanks for any help!

- jf
Last edited by jforena on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jforena
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:42 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: Allowing admins to create new users

PostAuthor: jforena » Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:56 am

Anyone?
Last edited by jforena on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jforena
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:42 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: Allowing admins to create new users

PostAuthor: Helter » Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:02 pm

you would have to add them as founders, which would give them permissions equal to yours and you would not be able to edit thier accounts anymore.

open root/profilcp/functions_profile.php

find

Code: Select all
        $res = USER;         if ( ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == 2) )         {             $res = ADMIN_FOUNDER;


inline, find

Code: Select all
2)


inline, after, add

Code: Select all
 || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == 3) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == 4) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == 5)


replace 3, 4 and 5 with the user id's of the admins you want to have founder priv's
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." - Dale Carnegie
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4554
Likes: 40 posts
Liked in: 116 posts
Images: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Cash on hand: 1,959.15
Location: Seattle Wa
IntegraMOD version: phpBB2x

Re: Allowing admins to create new users

PostAuthor: jforena » Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:08 pm

Thanks for the feedback and excuse my inexperience but I've added the code to root/profilcp/functions_profile.php and for some reason the designated admin's still are not able to add new users. It appears they are not recognized as founders.

Here is the code I added:


Code: Select all
        $res = USER;         if ( ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == 2) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == user1) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == user2) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == user3) )         {             $res = ADMIN_FOUNDER;         }


Of course user1, user2, and user3 are admin user id's. Is there something I'm doing wrong here?

Thanks for the feedback.
Last edited by jforena on Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

jforena
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:42 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: Allowing admins to create new users

PostAuthor: CaNNon » Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Check the admin panel one of the security mods will also need you to increase the admins to the new number.

also you should have copy and pasted your edit into the code box. so we could check for errors. I have hung myself a few times on stupid typO's <img>
Last edited by CaNNon on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
User avatar
CaNNon
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 750
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:15 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: Allowing admins to create new users

PostAuthor: jforena » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:24 am

Thanks, here's the code in the code box:

Code: Select all
       $res = USER;       if ( ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == 2) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == user1) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == user2) || ($userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN) && ($userdata['user_id'] == user3) )       {          $res = ADMIN_FOUNDER;       }


The Amount of allowed admins = 10.

Don't know if this is a factor but I previously implemented a separate mod because changes to the amount of allowed admins and mods would not take effect.

That mod is documented here (at the bottom)]http://www.integramod.com/forum/viewtop ... pbbmyadmin[/url]
Last edited by jforena on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jforena
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:42 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00


Return to IntegraMOD 141

Who is online

Registered users: App360MonitorBot, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot]