Can't use the "Forgot Password Feature"

Support for IntegraMOD 141

Moderator: Integra Moderator

Can't use the "Forgot Password Feature"

PostAuthor: BurninFingerTipz » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:27 am

Your phpBB Version: 2.0.
phpBB Type: Integramod 141
MODs: No
Your knowledge: Advanced Knowledge
Board URL: http://www.Revile-Guild.com

PHP Version:
MySQL Version:


What was done before the problem appeared?
Attempted to use the "Forgot Password" feature.


What was done to try to solve the problem?
N/A



De.scription and Message

This is what happened, I tested to see why "Forgot Password" wasn't working for a member. This is what I've seen.

It'll work perfectly the first time, but if you use it a 2nd time (my case days later) You get this message:
"Due to safety reasons it is not possible to send a new password every 20 minutes. Please contact the administrator if you have trouble!"

Now, I got this last night on my administrator account, and it's locked out, I can't remember the password... saddly... Now I tried this again just now, 9 hours later, and got the same message.

What is going on? And how can I unlock my account/reset my password without having a 2nd admin (which I don't)?

Please help, main concern is getting my admin accounts password reset.


Thanks in advance!
Last edited by BurninFingerTipz on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BurninFingerTipz
Members
Members
 
Posts: 55
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:49 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Can't use the "Forgot Password Feature"

PostAuthor: Helter » Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:59 pm

this was posted somewhere and was solved by either proper chmods, or making sure that the data in includes/phpbb_security.php matches the data in your db phpbb_config table

phpbb_security.php
[hr:1artyqqx]
function phpBBSecurity_AdminConfigName()
{
return 'some info';
}

function phpBBSecurity_ModConfigName()
{
return 'some other info';
}

function phpBBSecurity_UseSpecial()
{
return 'some other info again';
}

[hr]
db phpbb_config
[hr:1artyqqx]
phpbb_config VALUES('sec_admin', 'some info');
phpbb_config VALUES('sec_mods', 'some other info');
phpbb_config VALUES('sec_name', 'some other info again');
[hr]
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." - Dale Carnegie
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4554
Likes: 40 posts
Liked in: 116 posts
Images: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Cash on hand: 1,959.15
Location: Seattle Wa
IntegraMOD version: phpBB2x

PostAuthor: BurninFingerTipz » Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:29 pm

Okay I thought have had that right, but seems I don't.

I'm in phpMyAdmin looking at the database under phpbb_config, I see nothing with VALUES('sec_admin', 'some info');

I see sec_admin, sec_mods, and sec_name in config_name, but nothing to relate in config_values.


I hate to say it, but I've lost myself...

[Edit] - Here is the thread you're talking about - http://www.integramod.com/forum/your-da ... html#33185

But I don't see where it has those auto-generated values... I see one in config_vaules, do I put the same for all three?
Last edited by BurninFingerTipz on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BurninFingerTipz
Members
Members
 
Posts: 55
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:49 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Can't use the "Forgot Password Feature"

PostAuthor: Helter » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:18 pm

it does not matter what you put for each one, as long as you put the same thing in the db. They must match
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." - Dale Carnegie
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4554
Likes: 40 posts
Liked in: 116 posts
Images: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Cash on hand: 1,959.15
Location: Seattle Wa
IntegraMOD version: phpBB2x

PostAuthor: BurninFingerTipz » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:21 pm

Tried what I thought it was, doesn't work still.

Says to wait another 20 minutes to request another password still.

Can you take a screenshot, by any chance of where it's located at in the DB? I don't think I'm looking at the right values, or what have you.
Last edited by BurninFingerTipz on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BurninFingerTipz
Members
Members
 
Posts: 55
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:49 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Ohio, USA

PostAuthor: hornakapopolis » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:26 pm

I realize that figuring out the feature is part of the purpose, if you're also concerned about getting into your admin account, have you considered signing up a new account with a password you'll, obviously, know and then using phpMyAdmin to move that hashed password from the new user's entry to your own?

Again, I realize that that doesn't fix the feature on the board, but I'd be going nuts not being able to log in myself. After that, you could still continue to troubleshoot the main issue.
Last edited by hornakapopolis on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hornakapopolis
Members
Members
 
Posts: 45
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:03 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

PostAuthor: BurninFingerTipz » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:50 pm

Alright, I figured that out. I'm able to log on to my admin account know... Thanks for the suggestion on that.

[Edit] - As for the sec_admin, sec_mods, and sec_name. The vaules arn't auto-gened. Values are as followed in order listed; 1, 4, and 1.

Is this what I'd use:
function phpBBSecurity_AdminConfigName()
{
return 'sec_admin';
}

function phpBBSecurity_ModConfigName()
{
return 'sec_mods';
}

function phpBBSecurity_UseSpecial()
{
return 'sec_name';
}

Right? Those are my values for the admin, mods, and name settings.

If so, this is what I already have. Would still bring the question why you can use "Forgot Password" more than once...
Last edited by BurninFingerTipz on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BurninFingerTipz
Members
Members
 
Posts: 55
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:49 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Ohio, USA


Return to IntegraMOD 141

Who is online

Registered users: App360MonitorBot, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]