Translate
Sub Menu
Links Menu
Online Users

In total there are 112 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 109 guests

Most users ever online was 561 on Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:13 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] based on users active over the past 60 minutes

Last Online
In order to view the online list you have to be registered and logged in.



We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.

Click here to Register

Phpbb3 Header Q

Any topics related to phpBB (non-IntegraMOD related)

Moderator: Integra Moderator

Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: Lycanth » Mon May 31, 2010 11:40 pm

I have a fresh install of phpbb3 right now, and was hoping to be able to put some sort of announcement box at the top, similar to the one found here: http://alphabet-city.com/phpBB3/index.php

Also, I was hoping there was an easy way to change urls.

Basically, I had a site at http://www.mysite1.com, and have made a new one at http://www.subsite.mysite1.com

Any way to have the subsite show when someone types the main url? Thanks in advance!

Lycanth
Members
Members
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: CaNNon » Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:14 am

Use this .htaccess in the root folder of the site you want to redirect, change the urls to where you want them to go.

Code: Select all
Options +FollowSymlinksRewriteEngine onrewritecond %{http_host} ^domain.com [nc]rewriterule ^(.*)$ [url=http]http://www.domain.com/$1[/url] [r=301,nc]
Image
Image
User avatar
CaNNon
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:15 pm

Re: Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: Lycanth » Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:09 pm

I tried this, but it doesn't seem to work?

There's a htaccess file already in the root. do i edit this, replace it or have both?

Lycanth
Members
Members
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: Helter » Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:46 pm

what is in the current root .htaccess?
not the phpbb root, but the public html root.

are you using IM3, Stargate Portal, or just a virgin phpbb3.x?
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

Re: Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: Lycanth » Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:06 pm

Thank you, I got redirect working. Is there any way to add a table/box in my header like that site?

Lycanth
Members
Members
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: MWE_001 » Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:48 pm

Hi Ly. Glad to hear you got that redirect to work. I'm wondering if that is built into the template or if that is a mod. If it is a mod and we can find it, I can fix it up for you I'm sure if you can not.

On another note, how is the other 2 sites running these days?


Ray
"Don't gain the world and lose your soul, wisdom is better than silver and gold" -Bob Marley

If you build it, I can break it! ~ Whispered in the tone of the movie Field of Dreams.
User avatar
MWE_001
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1259
Images: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: Lycanth » Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:02 pm

It's not built into the template, I don't think, because that site offers different styles to use and that table/announcement box is on all of them.

I did look at one mod that's supposed to add an announcement box, but it doesn't have 3 sections like that one. To me, it looks a lot like a table.

And thanks, the HP one is doing great! The other one I'm just currently revamping, trying phpbb3 for the first time!

Lycanth
Members
Members
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Phpbb3 Header Q

PostAuthor: Helter » Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:29 pm

upload the two included files.
if you have additional styles, determine if they are based off of subsilver2 or prosilver and add the correct file to them.

open root/styles/prosilver/template/index_body.html

find

Code: Select all
<INCLUDE>


after, add

Code: Select all
 <INCLUDE>


open root/styles/subsilver2/template/index_body.html

find

Code: Select all
<INCLUDE>


after, add

Code: Select all
 <INCLUDE>


edit announcement.html with your content
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa


Return to phpBB Related Topics

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot]

cron